Mutebi dumps captain Awany on awards night #Uganda

By Elvis Senono

League champions KCCA on Tuesday evening held their annual end of season awards, a function that followed their trophy parade throughout Kampala’s five divisions earlier in the day.
As expected Timothy Awany, who has had a standout season scooped two awards, the MVP award dubbed the MTN Philip Omondi Award as well as the Fans’ Player gong.

The otherwise well-organized event by the club sponsors Vivo Energy and MTN was however somewhat overshadowed by Awany being stripped of the club captaincy by manager Mike Mutebi.
“We have made a thorough research and I can confirm that next season, Charles Lukwago will be our captain and will be assisted by Julius Poloto and Mustafa Kizza.
“KCCA FC skipper has to be exemplary and disciplined both on and off the pitch and we considered this in naming our new leaders next season,” Mutebi said when handed the microphone at the event held at the StarTimes Stadium.

This followed what many people at the club who spoke to Daily Monitor believed was a minor disagreement earlier in the day involving Awany and one of the officials from the club’s sponsors. The decision is also in stark contrast to the one Mutebi has been preaching throughout the season leading the praise of his defender who he also once likened to John Latigo, one of the club greats.
“I think Awany is the best player locally at the moment. Football is democratic and I believe right now, he should be a starter on the national team,” Mutebi purred then.


MTN Jimmy Kirunda Players’ Player
Mustafa Kizza Award and Shs1m
MTN KCCA Fans Player of the Year
Timothy Dennis Awany
MTN Jackson Mayanja Young Player
Juma Ibrahim (KCCA FC Junior Team)
Shell Vivo Energy – Top Scorer’s Award.
Patrick Henry Kaddu – Award and Shs3m
Chairman’s Award
John Mutenda ( KCCA’sLife Chairman)
MTN Tom Lwanga Most Disciplined Player
Charles Lukwago Award & Shs1m
MTN Philip Omondi MVP Award
Timothy Dennis Awany Shs5m

Source link

Back to top button