How Zambia won the 2019 COSAFA Championship #Uganda

2019 COSAFA Championship

  • Final: Zambia 1-0 Botswana
  • Most Valuable Player (MVP): Gerald Phiri Jnr (Malawi)
  • Best Goalkeeper: Sebastien Mwange (Zambia)
  • Golden Boot: Gerald Phiri Jnr, Mhango (Both
    Malawi), Ashley Nazira (Mauritius)
  • Plate Champions: South Africa

Zambia Chipolopolo Stars won the 2019
COSAFA Cup championship for the fifth time since inception.

The victorious side piped Botswana Zebras 1-0 during a well-contested final at the Moses Mabhida Stadium.

How Zambia won the 2019 COSAFA Championship #Uganda ubet jersey promotion

Tapson Kaseba scored the lone strike
in the final to smile on the podium since the 2013 heroics.

How Zambia won the 2019 COSAFA Championship #Uganda Tapson Kaseba shoots
David Isabirye | Kawowo Sports Tapson Kaseba shoots for the lone strike the won the day as Zambia beat Botswana in the final of the 2019 COSAFA (Photo: COSAFA Media)

Zambia won the championship for the
fifth time, one less than gold medal leaders Zimbabwe.

Sadly, for Botswana it is more
heartache as their quest for a maiden COSAFA Cup glory continues following a
second final defeat, the previous one coming in 2016 when they lost to South

Zambian goalkeeper Sebastien Mwange
was called upon to thwart attempts from midfielders Mothusi Cooper and Thero
Setsile as well as Boy Segolame (free-kick).

How Zambia won the 2019 COSAFA Championship #Uganda Zambia COSAFA 2019 900x584
David Isabirye | Kawowo Sports Zambia players celebrate on the podium (Photo: COSAFA Media)

Before Kaseba’s 78th
minute headed goal, Botswana goalie Ezekiel Morake was at his best, taming Lazarous

Kaseba missed the opportunity to make
it 2-0 moments later but his shot was pushed to the crossbar and over.

How Zambia won the 2019 COSAFA Championship #Uganda Zambia players with trophy 806x600
David Isabirye | Kawowo Sports Some of the jubilating Zambia players celebrate on the podium (Photo: COSAFA Media)
How Zambia won the 2019 COSAFA Championship #Uganda Zambia captain COSAFA 2019 900x600
David Isabirye | Kawowo Sports Zambia captain receives the trophy from the officials (Photo: COSAFA Media)

& Prize Monies:

Gerald Phiri Jnr was named most
valuable player of the tournament and claimed R20,000 in prize-money.

Zambian keeper Mwange was crowned
Goalkeeper of the Tournament, also pocketing R20,000.

The R20,000 for the Golden Boot was
shared between three players – the Malawian duo of Phiri Jnr and Mhango, and
Mauritius striker Ashley Nazira – who all scored three goals.

Zambia won R500,000 for their first-place
finish, while Botswana took home R250,000 as runners-up.

Zimbabwe pocketed R150,000 for finishing third, Leostho have R125,000 for fourth, while Plate winners South Africa will get R100,000.

How Zambia won the 2019 COSAFA Championship #Uganda Zambia COSAFA champions 2019 900x543
David Isabirye | Kawowo Sports Zambia clinched their 5th COSAFA title in as many years. (Photo: COSAFA Media)

In total, 20 matches were played at
this year’s COSAFA championship with 48 goals scored.

Malawi’s 3-0 group B win against
Seychelles was the biggest victory.

Five games ended in four-goal stalemates to include; Eswatini against Mauritius, Eswatini with Comoros, the quarterfinal clashes between South Africa and Botswana as well as Zambia against Malawi and the third place play-off match for Lesotho and Zimbabwe.

For starters, Uganda took part in the
tournament for the first time, as a guest.

The Uganda Cranes played only two
matches, losing 4-2 in penalties after a goal-less quarter final duel with

In the plate semi-finals, Uganda fell
3-2 to hosts South Africa in post-match penalties following a one all draw in
normal time.


Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi), Ashley
Nazira (Mauritius), Gerald Phiri Jnr (Malawi)

Felix Badenhorst (Eswatini),
Issaskar Gurirab (Namibia), Youssouf Ibroihim (Comoros), Richard Mbulu
(Malawi), Luther Singh (South Africa)

1 Goal: Daniel Serunkuma (Uganda), Tsoarelo Bereng (Lesotho), Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe),Segolame Boy (Botswana), Emmanuel Chabula (Zambia), Chikoti Chirwa (Malawi), Thatayaone Ditlhokwe (Botswana), Lebogang Ditsele (Botswana),Charles Hambira (Namibia),Soulaimana Ibouniyamine (Comoros), Jeituso (Mozambique), Hassan Kajoke (Malawi), Tapson Kasebe (Zambia), Ali Nassim (Comoros), Absalom Iimbondi (Namibia), Joslin Kamatuka (Namibia), Siboniso Mamba (Eswatini), Grant Margeman (South Africa), Leeroy Mavunga (Zimbawe), Joel Mogorosi (Botswana), Sera Motebang (Lesotho), Austin Muwowo (Zambia), Sabelo Ndzinisa (Eswatini), Boina Bacar Raidou (Comoros), Evans Rusike (Zimbabwe), Tafadzwa Rusike (Zimbabwe), Jane Thaba-Ntso (Lesotho), Sadney Urikhob (Namibia), Witi (Mozambique)

How Zambia won the 2019 COSAFA Championship #Uganda topbet web 15012019b

Source link

Back to top button