KWARA UNITED FC WINS GOV. OKOWA PRESEASON TOURNEY – Latest Sports and Football News in Nigeria #Nigeria

KWARA UNITED FC WINS GOV. OKOWA PRESEASON TOURNEY – Latest Sports and Football News in Nigeria #Nigeria 71147148 10156447322772026 8270634104601444352 n134 640x427

Kwara United Football Club today at the Main-Bowl of the Stephen Keshi Memorial Stadium, Asaba, won the 2019 Governor Ifeanyi Okowa Pre-Season Soccer competition, edging Lobi Stars 8-7 on penalties, after a goalless draw at regulation time.

The two teams, which qualified from Group B of the competition, put up a wonderful display in the final, to the admiration of spectators, creating anxious moments while doing so.

Kwara United FC earlier defeated Lobi Stars 2-1 in the last match of the Group, to qualify for the semi-final, where they edged Rivers United by a lone goal.

The Special Guest of Honour, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa, who praised the standard of play of the teams said that Delta state Government will maintain and sustain it’s support for sports development not only to curb youth restlessness but boost talent discovery platforms.

Governor Okowa, who was represented by the State’s Commissioner for Information, Charles Aniagwu praised the organisers for organising a befitting competition which he says, justifies why the competition was introduced.

He pledged the government’s continuous support for the organisation of the competition.

The Tournament Coordinator, Bashir Badawiy, who is also the General Manager of Kwara United FC said that he brought the competition to Asaba in appreciation of Governor Ojowa’s commitment to sports development.

He commended the teams that participated in adding value to football development.

The Secretary of Club Owners Association, Alloy Chukwuemeka said that the competition is a new dawn, and an opportunity for clubs to prepare well ahead of the forthcoming season.

Kwara United FC goalkeeper, Emmanuel Iwu was awarded as the Best Goalkeeper of the tournament.

Dede Moughara, also of Kwara United FC emerged Player of the tournament, while Abdulkareem Mumini of Lobi Stars scored the highest number of goals. The Fair Play award went to Rivers United FC.

Source link

Back to top button